RockElectronicPopFolk, CountryJazzFunkHip-hopClassicalReggaeLatinScreenBluesOther recordsFor KidsBrassMiscellaneous
» » Saint Etienne - Sound Of Water
Saint Etienne - Sound Of Water MP3


Saint Etienne


Sound Of Water


Electronic / Pop

MP3 album size:

1649 mb


Sub Pop




Synth-pop, Indie Pop



Date of release:

06 Jun 2000


SPCD 509

Saint Etienne - Sound Of Water MP3


1Heart Failed (In The Back Of A Taxi)3:41
2Downey, CA4:24
3Aspects Of Lambert3:30
4The Place At Dawn1:47
5Don't Back Down4:49
6How We Used To Live9:02
7Late Morning4:13
9Just A Little Overcome3:41
10Boy Is Crying3:52


CategoryArtistTitle (Format)LabelCategoryCountryYear
MNTCD1018Saint Etienne Sound Of Water ‎(CD, Album)Mantra RecordingsMNTCD1018UK2000
HVNLP72CD, 2759111Saint Etienne Sound Of Water ‎(CD, Album, RE, RM)Heavenly, Universal UMCHVNLP72CD, 2759111UK & Europe2011
MNTCD1018Saint Etienne Sound Of Water ‎(CD, Album)Mantra Recordings, Playground Music ScandinaviaMNTCD1018Scandinavia2000
7243 8 493672-3, 8493672, 7243 8 493672-2, 7243 8 Saint Etienne Sound Of Water ‎(CD, Album)Labels, Labels, Labels, Labels7243 8 493672-3, 8493672, 7243 8 493672-2, 7243 8 France2000
HVNLP72CDSE, HVNLP72CDDESaint Etienne Sound Of Water ‎(CD, Album, RE + CD, Comp + Dlx, RE, RM)Heavenly, HeavenlyHVNLP72CDSE, HVNLP72CDDEUK & Europe2017


  • Arranged ByGerard Johnson, Sean O'Hagan, To Rococo Rot
  • Backing VocalsCharlotte Hodson, Mitch Stevens
  • Co-producerGerard Johnson
  • DrumsJohn Miller
  • Electric Bass, Double Bass [Upright Bass]Edgar Jones
  • Engineer, Mixed ByGerard Johnson
  • GuitarJez Williams
  • Mixed ByEric Kupper (tracks: 2, 4), Gerard Johnson (tracks: 1, 3, 5 to 10)
  • PercussionStuart Reid
  • PerformerBob Stanley, Gerard Johnson, Pete Wiggs, Ronald Lippok, Sarah Cracknell, Sean O'Hagan, Stefan Schneider
  • Performer [Gooseskin Outburst]Shoichi Kajino
  • ProducerSaint Etienne
  • RecorderDavid Lawes
  • Voice [The Voice]Nathan Bennett
  • Written-ByStanley, Wiggs, Cracknell


Includes 12 pages booklet.


  • Barcode: 0 98787-0509-2 9
  • Matrix / Runout: wea mfg. OLYPHANT Y11420 IR SP 509-2 01
  • Mastering SID Code: ifpi L903
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 2U6D


  • Copyright (c) – Sub Pop Records
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Sub Pop Records
  • Recorded At – Amber Studio, Berlin
  • Mixed At – Protocol Studios
  • Glass Mastered At – WEA Mfg. Olyphant – Y11420
  • Pressed By – WEA Mfg. Olyphant


Saint Etienne continues in fine form on THE SOUND OF WATER, with Sean O’Hagan of the High Llamas taking main production duties. His fingerprints are immediately evident on the harmonium-drenched pop of “Heart Failed (In the Back of a Taxi)” or the blippy melodies and spoken word of “Don’t Back Down.” It’s a much more thin sound that we’ve become accustomed to from them, but they work with it admirably. “Boy is Crying” has a much more angular harmony, with sharp and layered dynamics, while “Downey, CA” has a subdued sparkle. The 9-minute long “How We Used to Live” that shifts from a maritime piece of 50s elegance to dance-friendly glitter and finally to jazz-inflected downtempo. “The Place at Dawn” takes us out on gentle waves of ambience. Water has never sounded so good.

Related to Saint Etienne - Sound Of Water