RockElectronicPopFolk, CountryJazzFunkHip-hopClassicalReggaeLatinScreenBluesOther recordsFor KidsBrassMiscellaneous
» » Japan - Oil On Canvas
Japan - Oil On Canvas MP3




Oil On Canvas



MP3 album size:

2220 mb






Synth-pop, Ambient



Date of release:

Jun 1983



Japan - Oil On Canvas MP3


1Oil On Canvas
Performer [Performed By] – D. Sylvian
2Voices Raised In Welcome, Hands Held In Prayer
Performer [Performed By] – D. Sylvian, S. Jansen
3Temple Of Dawn
Performer [Performed By] – R. Barbieri
6Cantonese Boy3:47
7Gentlemen Take Polaroids6:43
8Sons Of Pioneers5:02
10Visions Of China5:53
11Methods Of Dance6:07
12Still Life In Mobile Homes5:39
13The Art Of Parties5:30
14Quiet Life4:35


CategoryArtistTitle (Format)LabelCategoryCountryYear
VIRV 055DJapan Oil On Canvas ‎(Beta)Virgin VideoVIRV 055DUK1983
VIR 115 4Japan Oil On Canvas ‎(Beta)Virgin VideoVIR 115 4Australia1983
VIRV 055DJapan Oil On Canvas ‎(VHS, PAL)Virgin VideoVIRV 055DUK1983
LD 055DJapan Oil On Canvas ‎(Laserdisc, 12", S/Sided, PAL, SECAM, CLV)Virgin VideoLD 055DUK1983
VPVR-60643Japan Oil On Canvas ‎(VHS, NTSC)Vap VideoVPVR-60643Japan1992
CategoryArtistTitle (Format)LabelCategoryCountryYear
VD 2513, VD2513Japan Oil On Canvas ‎(2xLP, Album, Gat)Virgin, VirginVD 2513, VD2513UK1983
615005Japan Oil On Canvas ‎(2xLP, Album, Sin)Virgin, Edisom615005Portugal1983
VJCP-68874, VD2513Japan Oil On Canvas ‎(CD, Album, Ltd, RE, RM, Pap)Virgin, VirginVJCP-68874, VD2513Japan2008
CDVD 2513Japan Oil On Canvas ‎(CD, Album, RE, RM, DAD)VirginCDVD 2513UK1992
TCVD 2513Japan Oil On Canvas ‎(Cass, Album, Red)VirginTCVD 2513UK1983


  • Artwork [Handtinting]Yvette Anna
  • Cover [Cover Concept]Sylvian
  • Engineer [Engineered By]John Punter, Nigel Walker
  • Painting [Cover Painting]Frank Auerbach
  • Performer [Performed By], Bass Guitar, Clarinet, Saxophone, Vocals [Vocal]Mick Karn
  • Performer [Performed By], Drums, MarimbaSteve Jansen
  • Performer [Performed By], Guitar, KeyboardsMasami Tsuchiya
  • Performer [Performed By], KeyboardsRichard Barbieri
  • Performer [Performed By], Vocals, KeyboardsDavid Sylvian
  • Photography ByAnton Corbijn
  • Producer [Produced By]Japan, John Punter
  • Tape [Tapes Produced By]Japan, J. Punter, N. Walker, S. Nye
  • Written-ByD. Sylvian (tracks: A1 to D3), M. Karn (tracks: A2), R. Barbieri (tracks: D4), S. Jansen (tracks: B2, B4, D3)
  • Artwork [Handtinting]Yvette Anna
  • Executive-ProducerDavid Marlow
  • Film Director [Directed By]Tony Lawson
  • Liner NotesMichinari "My" Yamada
  • Painting [Cover Painting]Frank Allerbach
  • Performer [Performed By]David Sylvian, Masami Tsuchiya, Mick Karn, Richard Barbieri, Rob Dean, Steve Jansen
  • Photography By [Photography]Anton Corbijn
  • Producer [Audio Production]John Punter
  • Producer [Produced By]Kevin Attew
  • Production Manager [Production Editor]Peter Shelton
  • Video EditorPeter Shelton, Roy Wolfe


Japanese Edition Laserdisc with corner obi and 4 page insert with credits and lyrics. CLV format, one-sided.

© 1983 Virgin Video.
Manufactured by LaserDisc Corporation, distributed by Pioneer Electronic Corporation, Japan.

Printed in Japan.

All songs published by Chadwick Nomis Ltd. / Virgin Music Publishers Ltd.

This contains a different track order to the album and an extra track as the intro; 'Burning Bridges'. Different mixes of some songs appear. It was filmed at one of their last ever concerts at Hammersmith Odeon, London and on location in Thailand and Hong Kong.Japanese Promo Edition Double Vinyl Album in Gatefold Sleeve + Obi.

Made in Japan by Victor Musical Industries, Inc. Licensed by Virgin Records Ltd., England. ℗ 1983

Japanese promotional album printed with a 'white-coloured label'. Contains studio material, including three new instrumentals and a re-recorded 'Nightporter' and live material from the concert at Hammersmith Odeon, London, November 1982.


  • Matrix / Runout (Side 1): 1D130156
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 2): 1A130056
  • Rights Society (Japan): JASRAC
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 1): VD-2513 A 1 1
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 2): VD-2513 B 1 1
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 3): VD-2513 C 1 1
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 4): VD-2513 D 1 1
  • Rights Society: JASRAC
  • Other (Side 1 Secondary Catalogue #): VD-2513-A
  • Other (Side 2 Secondary Catalogue #): VD-2513-B
  • Other (Side 3 Secondary Catalogue #): VD-2513-C
  • Other (Side 4 Secondary Catalogue #): VD-2513-D
  • Other (Category on Label): VIRG-6
  • Other (Price): ¥3,600


  • Licensed Through – Virgin Records Ltd.
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Virgin Records Ltd.
  • Made By – Victor Musical Industries, Inc.
  • Distributed By – Pioneer Electronic Corporation
  • Manufactured By – LaserDisc Corporation
  • Copyright (c) – Virgin Video
  • Made By – Green Man Productions.
  • Made By – Virgin Films And Video
  • Published By – Chadwick Nomis Ltd.
  • Published By – Virgin Music (Publishers) Ltd.


Related to Japan - Oil On Canvas